Optimism At it’s Finest

Entering Into The Serpent by Gloria Anzaldua was definitely a tough read at first but after rereading through everything and the conversations in class, I think it is by far one of the most inspiring and best piece’s we have read so far. Coming from native american descent, and having half of my family live on our actual reservation I have been surrounded by oppression my entire life. Seeing as I do not live on the actual reservation though, and only my close cousins, aunts, uncles, and so on do, I can definitely see the difference in how we each live our lives. I think this essay is beautiful in demonstrating the optimism the author shares for her views on her personal religion and context about the way everyone should be living their lives. To her, the serpent is not a horrible creature like her mother and past generations have thought, but the fruit to all knowledge and understanding for better and more peaceful lives between all genders, races, and religions. I too, definitely agree with this statement, and cannot wait to read the next essay so I can put even more understanding into this new and wonderful ideology.

This entry was posted in Gloria Anzaldúa and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Optimism At it’s Finest

  1. alblanken says:

    After just posting a blog post and then reading your blog, we definitely seem to agree on how we feel about the essay. Initially, I barely understood any of it and I thought I highly disliked it. However, our class discussion allowed me to appreciate it because of its honesty about oppression as well as the belief that a change in cultural. Religious, and societal norms for females can be a good thing. I don’t think enough individuals or groups put the issue of oppression into perspective enough and this may come from their own privileges that they are unaware of. It has taken me until recently to realize the privileges I have, in which makes me encourage everyone to become self aware of their own privileges. This may help in alleviating some oppression.

Leave a Reply

