Heritage and the Serpent

I found Entering into the Serpent by Gloria Anzaldua very interesting and different than things we have read before.  Like we talked about in class, I thought it was very unique for her to have both Spanish and English written into the story as a way to allow others to get an understanding of what it is like to have the language barrier. It is something I have never really had to experience so reading this story even after having multiple years of Spanish courses, was difficult to read fluently with all the Spanish thrown in randomly.  I interpreted this story as her way of showing her strong support of her heritage and religion.  She talks greatly about both in a way to show she is proud of where she is coming from.  I saw the serpent as being a symbol of female strength and power and like when she says “I know the Erath is a coiled serpent.  Forty years it’s taken me to enter into the serpent to acknowledge that I have a body, that I am body and to assimilate the animal body, the animal soul” to me seems like she is accepting this idea of the serpent and that with this she is able to embrace the feminine identity behind the serpent. I also thought that this story is explaining her recognition of her heritage and finally defining herself as a person and standing on her own.

This entry was posted in Gloria Anzaldúa and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heritage and the Serpent

  1. cjford83 says:

    I really like your point about her recognizing her heritage and embracing it. It seems that this has been a recurrent theme in most of the stories we have read so far this semester and I think it sends a really powerful message in a dense essay such as this. Not only has she embraced her heritage but she has studied it and grasped a full understanding of her history, which I think lends itself to a more interesting reading because while it is one thing to say your know yourself and your people, it is quite another to actually have researched it back to antiquity!

  2. faith6011 says:

    Your blog post really cleared up a bunch of things I couldn’t seem to get a grasp on while I read this essay so thank you for that. I loved how you interpreted the serpent as being a symbol of strength rather than a thing of fear or temptation the way the Bible protrays it to be.

Leave a Reply

