Wolfland

Two things that stuck out most to me was the description of the cloak and Lisel’s personality in the beginning of the story. When reading Little Red Riding Hood, the cloak seems more like a spring time cloak – thin, light, plain, something for a young child, whereas in Wolfland, it’s described as this beautiful winter cloak – scarlet velvet, lined with albino fur, clasp of gold, something a rich, young, female aristocrat would wear. When reading the description of the cloak, it made me think of Christmas and ice skating. I got a very vivid and gorgeous picture in my mind.

With her personality, as a young one reading Little Red, I imagined her as a young, naive, playful, fun loving child (also gullible); in Wolfland, she’s annoying and selfish, the embodiment of a spoiled, rich, teenaged girl. She knew she would inherit riches and it really showed.

Both the description of the cloak and how Lisel acts compared with what I grew up with was just such a shock to me. It was a new twist to a classic tale.

About rimiller11

Colorful hair. Green eyes. Glasses. 5ft. 7in. Curvy. 21 years old. 24 piercings. 12 tattoos. Virgo. College student. English major. Minors in religious studies and philosophy. Addicted to menthol cigarettes and diet coke. Loves to read and play video games. Favorite band is Avenged Sevenfold.
This entry was posted in Tanith Lee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wolfland

  1. thetagirl10 says:

    I tend to disagree with your view of Lisel in particular. In the childhood story that we all grew up with Lisel is very close to her grandmother and is very worried that she has taken ill. Her mother is also close to the grandmother (which would be her actual mother) and sends Lisel to make sure that she is alright. Right off the bat you can tell that the whole family cares dearly for the old grandmother and spends time with her quite often. In Wolfland this is obviously not the case. Lisel has barely seen or even spoken to her grandmother and it doesn’t seem like her family has kept in very good touch with her either. If I were in her place too I would be very skeptical and selfish with my ways toward this woman just because this is one of the first times I would be spending time with her. Not to mention the absurd question Lisel has to address at the end of the story that the grandmother has asked. That is a huge commitment to make. I didn’t see anything wrong with Lisel thinking towards the future and thinking about the money that she could inherit if she followed in her grandmother’s footsteps. It’s not every day you are asked to become a wolf and if the money was an incentive to get her to help her grandmother I don’t believe it should be taken as a bad attribute.

    • rimiller11 says:

      I was just comparing what I read to what I remember reading as a child. It’s been years since I’ve read Little Red Riding Hood so I admit that I don’t recall her personality exactly, but I was just surprised at the difference between Lisel and what I could recall. And from what you’re saying, I get a better understanding of why the two Red’s are so different and I appreciate your clarification.

Leave a Reply

