What really is the chamber?

When I just finished reading “The Bloody Chamber,” I thought I understood why the story was given the title it was. Obviously, the main character goes into the (literal) bloody chamber, and that’s what changes her life. However, as I thought about it more, I started to feel as though the bloody chamber isn’t really the room that the Marquis used to torture his wives, but rather the body + mind + heart(?) of the young girl.

At the beginning of the story, she is an innocent seventeen year old girl from Paris who has the gift of music. As the story progresses, we see her character evolve into someone who is almost nothing like the girl we meet in the beginning. The young girl has transformed from a pure, naive, virgin into an extremely sexual young woman who craves to be ravaged by her husband.

Now, was this who she was all along? I feel as though it is. And I think she realizes that herself. Her choice of words, her actions, and the nature of her relationship with the piano tuner (whose age we are not sure of) all lead me to believe that she was always dark on the inside. Perhaps even darker than the Marquis. However, what she has, unlike the Marquis, is the ability to suppress her dark side – her bloody chamber.

About sponnada

I am an Indian immigrant woman on a quest to be free.
This entry was posted in Angela Carter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What really is the chamber?

  1. erg4lyfe769 says:

    (First off great story!) In reply to Sponnada’s post I did some research on Angela Carter and came across this website http://www.egs.edu/library/angela-carter/biography/. This biography allowed me to link together this former peasants dark desires to be with this . psychopath rich man…Carter gives this young woman agency and we see her desires and here her thoughts about the things that are happening…so we know that she is not merely an object, but a human. While at the same time, we see her through this sick and twisted male fantasy of her new rich husband deflowering a virgin and then killing her once she knows too much—this alludes to the idea that women were often portrayed in literature as male fantasies, sexual objects, solely to bare children. Let me know if this was helpful!!!

  2. sponnada says:

    Hi! I’ve been meaning to reply to your comment but kept forgetting.

    ANYWAY. Thank you for your insightful comment! I’m really glad that you brought up using Angela Carter’s biography in order to analyze her work. That’s how I was taught to look at literature back in Jamaica. I don’t know why people don’t seem to (want to?) do that anymore.

    I read through the biography that you linked and was amazed by how much of her real life we can see in just “The Bloody Chamber,” itself. I’m interested to know if that is the case with all her works. I hope it is, because I think that’s what makes her stuff good.

Leave a Reply

